Merchant Market Desk
Managing risk through power purchase agreements
Joakim Johnsen
Head of Merchant Market Desk
Energy & Infrastructure EMEA
Off-takers are not just buying renewable PPAs because they are competitive on cost, but as an opportunity to grow their business in a responsible and sustainable manner.

Managing risk through power purchase agreements

The costs of generating renewable energy are constantly decreasing due to highly efficient technologies. With the phasing out of feed-in tariffs and the growing demand from corporates for green energy, the need for long-term power purchase agreements (PPAs) is on the rise. These not only provide institutional investors with greater planning security but also ensure stable cash flow over the long term. Over the past five years, the use of PPAs in the renewable energy sector has therefore grown rapidly, especially in countries with limited subsidies.

Comprehensive market knowledge and a solid network are the basis for our forward-looking PPA strategy, so that a suitable, individually tailored PPA structure is usually already available when a transaction is concluded. Long-term power purchase agreements are now an important instrument for managing energy risks. Using quantitative analyses, hedging routes are developed in advance for the entire duration of the project, and suitable buyers are acquired to realise a project. Energy production by wind, solar and hydropower is subject to strong fluctuations due to weather dependency. PPAs hedge the resulting volatility of market prices over the long term and provide investors with stable returns.

We have many years of expertise in the PPA market. Over the past five years, our experts have negotiated, structured and concluded PPAs for a total output of over 1,200 MW1. Our team of dedicated employees – brought together thanks to the company’s own Merchant Market Desk – are responsible for sourcing and structuring PPAs for all projects throughout Europe. Together with the respective transaction team, the Merchant Market Desk always develops an optimal PPA structure for the project duration of individual projects or for entire portfolios.

1) as at 01.12.2019

Renewable Energies

Power Purchase Agreements

Ninetynine Seconds - Joakim Johnsen on Power Purchase Agreements

In the last five years, Europe has seen significant growth in the use of PPAs for renewable energy. This is largely due to decreasing costs of renewable energy generation, phasing out of feed-in-tariffs as well as growing corporate demand for green energy. Although PPAs are used in several countries across Europe, the majority are concentrated in just a few, where subsidies are limited. However, demand is spreading across the region and several renewable energy projects are seeking PPAs in order to become realised.

Merchant Market Desk
Sicherer planen mit Stromabnahmeverträgen
Joakim Johnsen
Head of Merchant Market Desk
Energy & Infrastructure EMEA
Der Kauf von PPAs ermöglicht Unternehmen nicht nur eine Kostenersparnis, sondern auch die Gelegenheit verantwortungsvoll und nachhaltig zu wachsen.

Sicherer planen mit Stromabnahmeverträgen

Dank hocheffizienter Technologien sinken die Kosten für die Erzeugung Erneuerbarer Energien stetig. Mit der sukzessiven Reduzierung von Einspeisevergütungen sowie der gleichzeitig anhaltend hohen Nachfrage von Unternehmen nach grüner Energie steigt der Bedarf an langfristigen Stromabnahmeverträgen (Power Purchase Agreements – PPAs). Diese gewähren institutionellen Anlegern nicht nur mehr Planungssicherheit, sondern sichern auch langfristig stabile Cashflows. In den letzten fünf Jahren stieg daher der Einsatz von PPAs im Bereich Erneuerbarer Energien rasant – insbesondere in Ländern mit begrenzten Subventionen.

Umfassende Marktkenntnisse und ein solides Netzwerk sind die Basis für unsere vorausschauende PPA-Strategie, so dass beim Abschluss einer Transaktion meist schon eine passende, individuell maßgeschneiderte PPA-Struktur vorliegt. Langfristige Stromabnahmeverträge sind heute ein wichtiges Instrument, um Energierisiken zu managen. Anhand von quantitativen Analysen werden vorab Absicherungswege für die gesamte Projektlaufzeit erarbeitet: und geeignete Abnehmer für eine Projektrealisierung akquiriert. Die Energieproduktion per Wind-, Solar- und Wasserkraft unterliegt aufgrund der Wetterabhängigkeit starken Schwankungen. PPAs sichern die daraus resultierende Volatilität der Marktpreise dauerhaft ab und ermöglichen Anlegern stabile Renditen.

Wir verfügen über eine langjährige Expertise im PPA-Markt. Unsere Experten haben in den letzten fünf Jahren PPAs über eine Gesamtleistung von über 1.200 MW verhandelt, strukturiert und abgeschlossen. Das Team aus engagierten Mitarbeitern – vereint am unternehmenseigenen Merchant Market Desk – verantwortet das Sourcing und die Strukturierung von PPAs für alle Projekte in ganz Europa. Gemeinsam mit dem jeweiligen Transaktionsteam erarbeitet der Merchant Market Desk immer eine optimale PPA-Struktur für die Projektlaufzeit einzelner Projekte oder für ganze Portfolios.

Erneuerbare Energien

Power Purchase Agreements

Ninetynine Seconds - Joakim Johnsen zu Power Purchase Agreements

In den letzten fünf Jahren ist der Einsatz von PPAs (Power Purchase Agreements) im Bereich Erneuerbarer Energien rasant gestiegen. Sinkende Kosten für die Erzeugung Erneuerbarer Energien, eine sukzessive Reduzierung von Einspeisevergütungen sowie die wachsende Nachfrage von Unternehmen nach grüner Energie haben wesentlich zu dieser Entwicklung beigetragen. PPA Verträge finden sich in vielen europäischen Ländern, ein Großteil konzentriert sich jedoch auf Länder mit begrenzten Subventionen. Während die Nachfrage anhaltend steigt, sind zum Teil Projektentwickler aktiv auf der Suche nach Abnehmern, um die Projekt-Realisierung zu ermöglichen.