Investment process und approach

Aquila Group employs a holistic, solution-oriented approach to investment management, from the development and implementation of a strategy, to the management of and exit from an asset.

Our investment process follows a predefined structure, designed to ensure maximum investment oversight. Aquila Capital’s independent, asset-specific investment teams utilise their extensive sector network and experience to screen the market for potential investment opportunities. The investment teams are responsible for the due diligence analysis and economic assessment of targeted assets. They identify the risks involved in order to determine the potential viability of investments and optimised risk-return profiles. During the entire investment process, the investment teams work closely with the Group’s independent portfolio management, risk management, liquidity management and valuation teams in order to ensure a comprehensive review of each asset.

An investment is made only if it passes the in-depth analysis of the investment, portfolio management, risk management, liquidity management and valuation teams and due diligence by external advisors.

Once an asset has been on-boarded, Aquila Group manages the asset over its entire lifetime to fully realise its value. The Group’s independent portfolio management, risk management, valuation and reporting functions ensure continuous control and rigorous investment oversight and operational management over the entire lifecycle of an asset.

Portfolio Management

Aquila Group’s portfolio management team applies an “expert in asset class” approach. Each portfolio manager has proven expertise in his/her respective asset class, enabling the Group to meet and manage the diverse requirements and challenges that real asset investments entail.

The portfolio management function plays a key role both during the asset acquisition phase and once the asset has been on-boarded. Following the acquisition of an asset, the portfolio management team ensures best-of-breed management and oversight of the asset over its entire lifetime. It works closely together with the Group’s independent investment management, liquidity management, risk management, reporting, valuation and legal execution teams to conduct a broad range of processes and activities that underpin the long-term success of an asset for its investors.

In order to fully realise the value of an asset, the team monitors the market environment, prepares and analyses performance reports, conducts on-site visits and implements problem solving measures. It serves as the key point of contact for all external investment managers and plant operators as well as for internal departments and liaises with all parties involved in the investment project.

Further responsibilities include contract management, deadline management, the analysis and explanation of actual versus target performance, the identification of any necessary measures that need to be implemented as well as the organisation of required resolutions from governing bodies. Furthermore, the portfolio management function closely supports the risk management process by collaborating in drafting and updating risk profiles for each company and ascertaining potential liquidity risks and parameters with internal departments.

Risk Management

Aquila Group’s dedicated risk management team ensures that stringent risk management principles are identified, implemented, monitored and adhered to, both during the asset acquisition phase and once an asset has been on-boarded.

The risk management function is involved in the entire investment process. At the very beginning of this process, the risk management team has to approve the choice of external due diligence service providers and the relevant costs involved. Prior to giving the final approval that is necessary before a final investment decision can be made, the team conducts an in-depth assessment of the underlying model assumptions, the sales contract, the purchase price mechanism and the due diligence findings.

As the investment process progresses, the risk management team defines key requirements that the asset has to meet and creates risk assessment reports of the asset that is to be acquired. Furthermore, the team is involved in the risk assessment of external services, such as asset due diligence and in the review of the statements and reports that are produced as part of the due diligence process. Further responsibilities include the analysis and approval of investment proposals from internal and external investment managers and conducting a plausibility check of how the purchase price has been determined and of the valuation of the asset provided by the valuation team. In addition, the team conducts an in-depth risk review of the contracts that are to be drafted (purchase price agreement, LOI etc.) and plays a key role in the structuring of acquisition companies and investment vehicles. The team assesses the compatibility of the company structures with defined company criteria and regulatory requirements, creates reports on product risks, assesses risks related to asset financing and collaborates with internal parties on reporting issues. Further key tasks include the screening, evaluation and creation of efficiency analyses and profitability calculations and organising and obtaining necessary decisions from governing bodies.

Once an asset has been acquired, the risk management team conducts quarterly risk assessments of the asset, creates and maintains a range of risk documents, including risk profiles, risk reports and ad-hoc reports, prepares and implements contractual negotiations and new contracts and monitors contract management and deadline management. Taking an active risk management approach, the risk management team works closely with the portfolio management team to limit/eliminate risks. Furthermore, it collaborates with the valuation department, which has to receive sign-off from the risk management team before making any changes to the valuation methodology or key assumptions concerning the asset or the calibration and back-testing of valuation models. Finally, the risk management team is provided with decision-making powers when assets are sold or (intermediate) companies are liquidated.

Valuation

The Group’s independent valuation function is responsible for determining the fair value of assets whose prices cannot be determined easily in the market. The fair value is ascertained by using well established valuation fundamentals that are based on discounted cash flow models and observable market factors.

The valuation team takes responsibility for valuation following the acquisition of an asset and during its lifetime. The value of each real asset investment is assessed on a quarterly basis. The valuation forms the basis for the price calculations of the custodian bank, reporting and as a component of performance measurement. The valuation is based on prevailing market parameters, such as current interest rates and the market price for risk, as well as observable required returns for similar transactions.

The intrinsic value of debt securities is examined also by the valuation department.

The valuation methodology remains essentially the same across the different asset classes. The valuation methodology and its results are audited annually by an auditor from one of the Big Four firms.

Reporting

Aquila Group’s dedicated reporting function produces a broad range of reports tailor-made to meet the specific needs of institutional investors, including monthly, quarterly and annual reports.

Institutional investors are provided with a detailed quarterly report that contains information on the performance of their investment and provides in-depth information on the operating environment of current investment projects. It also contains information about the relevant market environment and the current project pipeline, where relevant. Furthermore, investors are provided with an annual report at the end of each financial year.

Investmentphilosophie und -ansatz

Die Aquila Gruppe verfolgt einen ganzheitlichen, lösungsorientierten Investmentansatz – von der Entwicklung und Umsetzung einer Strategie über das Management bis zum Exit eines Assets.

Der Investmentprozess der Aquila Gruppe folgt einer festgelegten Struktur, um ein Höchstmaß an Aufsicht über die Investments sicherzustellen. Im Sachwert-Segment nutzen die unabhängigen Investmentteams ihre Expertise und ihr umfangreiches Netzwerk, um potenzielle Investmentopportunitäten zu erschließen.

Die Investmentteams sind für die Due Diligence-Analyse und die Bewertung der Wirtschaftlichkeit der Ziel-Assets verantwortlich. Sie identifizieren die damit verbundenen Risiken, um die Rentabilität der Investments insgesamt einschätzen und ein optimales Rendite-Risiko-Profil bestimmen zu können. Während des gesamten Investmentprozesses arbeiten die Investmentteams eng mit den gruppeneigenen unabhängigen Portfolio-, Risiko- und Liquiditätsmanagement- sowie Valuation-Teams zusammen, um eine umfassende Prüfung aller Assets zu gewährleisten und die Strukturierung des Investments optimal an den Anforderungen des Investors auszurichten.

Angebundene Assets werden durch die Aquila Gruppe über die Gesamtlaufzeit hinweg aktiv  kontrolliert und gemanagt. Ziel ist es, mit einer stringenten Investmentaufsicht sowie einem aktiven, operativen Management während der gesamten Laufzeit des Assets eine stetige wirtschaftliche Optimierung der Investments zu gewährleisten.

Portfoliomanagement

Das Portfoliomanagement-Team der Aquila Gruppe arbeitet nach einem „Experten für Assetklassen“-Ansatz. Jeder Portfoliomanager verfügt über eine ausgewiesene Kompetenz in seiner/ihrer entsprechenden Assetklasse.

Das Portfoliomanagement spielt sowohl während der Akquisitionsphase als auch nach  Anbindung des Assets eine wesentliche Rolle. Dieser Ansatz gewährleistet ein bestmögliches Management und eine stringente Aufsicht während der gesamten Laufzeit des Assets. Das Team arbeitet eng mit den gruppeneigenen unabhängigen Fachabteilungen – vom Investmentteam über das Risikomanagement und Legal bis hin zum Reporting – zusammen. Dadurch ist es in eine Vielzahl von Prozessen eingebunden, die den nachhaltigen Erfolg eines Assets für Investoren sicherstellen.

Um den Wert eines Assets vollständig zu realisieren, überwacht das Team das Marktumfeld, erstellt und analysiert Performance-Berichte, führt Vor-Ort-Kontrollen durch und erarbeitet Maßnahmen zur Problemlösung. Das Portfoliomanagement-Team ist der direkte Ansprechpartner für alle externen Investmentmanager und Betreiber sowie für interne Abteilungen und stellt den Informationsfluss zwischen allen am Prozess beteiligten Parteien sicher.

Weitere Verantwortungsbereiche umfassen das Portfolio-, Vertrags- und Fristenmanagement, die Analyse und Begründung der Soll-Ist-Performance, die Identifikation und Umsetzung notwendiger Maßnahmen sowie die Organisation erforderlicher Beschlüsse der Leitungsgremien. Zudem unterstützt das Team den Risikomanagement-Prozess bei dem Entwurf und der Aktualisierung der Risikoprofile für die Gesellschaften und bei der Ermittlung potenzieller Liquiditätsrisiken und Parameter in Abstimmung mit internen Fachabteilungen.

Risk Management

Das Risikomanagement-Team der Aquila Gruppe stellt sicher, dass stringente Risikomanagement-Grundsätze etabliert, umgesetzt, überwacht und eingehalten werden – sowohl während der Akquisitionsphase des Assets als auch nach der Anbindung.

Das Risikomanagement ist in den gesamten Investmentprozess eingebunden. So muss das Team der Auswahl der externen Due Diligence-Dienstleister und den damit verbundenen Kosten zustimmen. Vor ihrer endgültigen Genehmigung – die notwendig ist, um die Investitionsentscheidung treffen zu können – führt das Team eine ausführliche Bewertung der zugrundeliegenden Modell-Einschätzungen, des Kaufvertrags, der Kaufpreisregelungen sowie der Ergebnisse der Due Diligence durch.

Im weiteren Verlauf des Investmentprozesses definiert das Risikomanagement-Team Kernanforderungen für das Asset und bewertet das Risiko des Assets, das akquiriert werden soll. Das Team ist zudem in der Risikoprüfung externer Dienstleister und der Validierung von Aussagen und Berichten, die im Rahmen des Due Diligence-Prozesses angefertigt wurden, involviert. Zu den Verantwortungsbereichen zählen des Weiteren die Analyse und Genehmigung des Investitionsangebots von internen und externen Investmentmanagern und die Durchführung einer Plausibilitätskontrolle des Kaufpreises und der vom Valuation-Team zur Verfügung gestellten Asset-Bewertung. Zudem prüft das Team sämtliche Vertragsentwürfe (Kaufpreisvereinbarung, Haftungserklärung etc.) auf Risiken und spielt eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Strukturierung der zu erwerbenden Unternehmen und Investmentvehikel. Das Team analysiert, ob die Strukturen Unternehmensanforderungen entsprechen und ob regulatorische Anforderungen erfüllt werden, erstellt Berichte zu Produktrisiken, bewertet Finanzierungsrisiken der Assets und arbeitet eng mit dem Reporting zusammen. Zu den zentralen Aufgaben zählen des Weiteren das Erstellen, das Screening und die Evaluation von Wirtschaftlichkeitsanalysen und Rentabilitätsrechnungen sowie die Organisation und Durchführung notwendiger Entscheidungen von Aufsichtsgremien.

Nach Anbindung des Assets nimmt das Team quartalsweise Risikobewertungen vor, erstellt und aktualisiert vielfältige Dokumente, etwa Risikoprofile, Risikoberichte und Ad-hoc-Meldungen, bereitet neue Verträge und Vertragsverhandlungen vor, führt diese durch und überwacht das Vertrags- sowie Fristenmanagement.

Das Risikomanagement-Team verfolgt einen aktiven Risikomanagement-Ansatz und arbeitet eng mit dem Portfoliomanagement zusammen, um Risiken zu reduzieren bzw. zu eliminieren. Die Anpassung von Bewertungsmethoden der Assets durch die Valuation-Abteilung ist durch Prozesse definiert. So können Bewertungsmethoden oder Grundannahmen bezüglich des Assets oder die Kalibrierung und das Back-Testing der Bewertungsmodelle nur angepasst werden, wenn die Freigabe des Risikomanagements vorliegt. Dem Team obliegt zudem die Entscheidungsbefugnis im Fall eines Verkaufs (intermediär) oder einer Unternehmensliquidation.

Valuation

Die unabhängige Valuation-Abteilung der Aquila Gruppe ist für die Bewertung von Assets verantwortlich, deren Wert sich nicht einfach über den Markt bestimmen lassen. Der Fair Value dieser Assets wird von dem Valuation-Team mit etablierten Bewertungsmodellen ermittelt, die auf Basis von Discounted Cashflow-Modellen und beobachtbaren Marktfaktoren beruhen.

Dem Valuation-Team obliegt sowohl die Bewertung des Assets während des Ankaufprozesses als auch während des Laufzeitmanagements. Der Wert von Sachwerten wird dabei vierteljährlich bestimmt. Dieser bildet die Grundlage für die Preiskalkulation der Depotbank und das Reporting und ist ein elementarer Bestandteil der Performance Messung. Die Bewertung basiert auf aktuellen Marktparametern, wie zum Beispiel aktuellen Zinssätzen und Risikoabschlägen sowie beobachtbaren realen Renditen bei vergleichbaren Transaktionen.

Darüber hinaus wird auch der intrinsische Wert von Schuldverschreibungen von der Valuation-Abteilung ermittelt.

Die Bewertungsmethode ist grundsätzlich über die verschiedenen Assetklassen einheitlich. Die Methodik sowie die Validität der Ergebnisse werden jährlich durch einen Wirtschaftsprüfer aus dem Kreise der Big 4 geprüft.

Reporting

Das umfassende Reporting der Aquila Gruppe bietet ein breites Spektrum an maßgeschneiderten Berichten, die den Bedürfnissen institutioneller Investoren entsprechen und Monats-, Quartals- und Jahresberichte beinhalten.

Für institutionelle Investoren werden detaillierte Quartalsberichte erstellt, die Informationen über die Performance der Zielinvestments, umfassende Marktberichte und das Investmentumfeld aktueller Projekte enthalten. Darüber hinaus finden sich weitergehende Details zur aktuellen Produktpipeline, sofern sie für den Investor relevant sind, im Reporting wieder. Selbstverständlich wird allen Investoren nach Ende des Geschäftsjahres ein Jahresbericht zur Verfügung gestellt.